PDA

View Full Version : Murphy's Law(PG)

copper3
14th October 2004, 10:40
Title: Murphy's Law
Disclaimer: I own nothing, nothing at all.
Author's Note: I work with dogs for a living, the part about the corn is true. Please let me know what you think, I'm addicted to feedback. On with the story.

Chloe Sullivan was on cloud nine. She had finally landed a key interview in Metropolis at one of the local papers for a part time job. It wasn’t the daily planet, but they were willing to give her a shot at writing a few small articles. At least this would be a chance to work her way up the ladder.

It was strange really, she had been applying for every opening they had for the past year and never once got a return call until now, but she wasn’t about to question her good fortune.
Chloe gazed out at the long road in front of her, completely lost in thought when the sight of something small and furry skittered across her path.

The small animal which looked to be a gopher stopped directly in the middle of the road. As Chloe got closer it was obvious that this little gopher was actually a tiny puppy. She slowed to a stop in front of the ball of fur as it started to howl pitifully.

She glanced at her watch, less than two hours left to get to Metropolis if she wanted to be on time.

“Option A, pick up the puppy and be late for the interview, or option B, leave the puppy and incur a black mark on my soul...great, just great.”

Having decided to take the guilt free route she exited the car and approached the puppy, who was waiting patiently for her to pick him up. He was black and tan and looked like a German Shepherd. His soulful eyes looked up at her as she glare back down at him.

“Why me? You couldn’t wait for the next car?” He sat silently, as if defying her to leave him there.

“Fine.” Chloe sighed and picked him up, muttering something about Murphy’s Law under breath as she headed back to the car, puppy in tow.