PDA

View Full Version : Convention (PG)

JodiMelville
14th April 2004, 10:45
A/N: Hey, all. This is my first attempt at a Chlex/SV fanfic - so be nice! Kind of . . . I would like honest opinions though. If it sucks or if they're OOC, let me know, people! :D This actually started out as a short character sketch, so I could work on keeping Lex and Chloe in character for another story I was trying to write, and it took on a life of its own. The beginning dialog is actually from a movie called Dark City, so it's NOT MINE, but I felt it was fitting here - I loved the quote, didn't want to forget it, and just incorporated it thus. Okay, and since my note is becoming longer than the fanfiction . . . on with the story!

Disclaimer: I don't own a damn thing but my WhitneyTruck. So there.

Convention

“We’re very lucky when you think about it.” His quiet voice stalked through the silence as he appeared from behind her, making his presence known. “To be able to revisit those places that once meant so very much to us.”

She smirked sadly at the back of his bald head as she replied. “I thought it was more that we were haunted by them.”

He turned slowly to face her, his eyes meeting hers, reading them before he answered nonchalantly, “Perhaps.” He moved toward her, so close that his image threatened to dwarf her thoughts, yet she kept her gaze straight ahead, never shifting from her position on the bleachers. Her posture was tired, her eyes blank, as she stared across the gymnasium. Her clothes hung loosely on her frame now; he noticed this and clenched his jaw, desperately trying to keep those feelings of helplessness from his features. As he stood idly by, his father had made her a pawn. He pulled his long overcoat around him and sat down next to her on the bench. Embracing the stillness, Lex waited for her to speak.