PDA

View Full Version : The Promise (PG-13)

moultipass1
28th November 2003, 04:28
TITLE: The Promise
SPOILERS: First and second season I guess
DISCLAIMER: Did Lana die during the meteor shower? Is Clark permanently under the influence of the red rocks? Are Chloe and Lex together? No? Well... then I guess that means I don't own them! lol
Futurefic, pairing Lex/Chloe (does any other even exist?)
A/N : This is my first attempt at a future fic *and* english isn't my first language, so needless to say feedbacks would be GREATLY appreciated! tpretender@caramail.com
Thanks!

Fighting against the tears that were beginning to form in her eyes, the young woman quickly left the room and slammed the door. Two years of a perfect happiness had just ended up, and she didn’t have the courage to bear it, nor to hide it. So she decided to run away. She knew that story would be in every newspaper by tomorrow, but she didn’t care. Tomorrow, she’d be far away, in another country, she’d start everything again, as cliché as it sounded even at her own hears, and she’d try to forget the pain... assuming it was possible.

“Kent! Come here right now!”
Clark winced, which caused his fellow worker to laugh. Like him, she knew Perry only called him by his last name when something was wrong, and the Daily Planet’s editor in chief’s outbursts resulting from a contrariety were usually impressive. Loïs waved her hand to cheer him up, trying to hide an amused smile. Making sure his clothes were still impeccable, he finally stood up and walked to the room where a lecture was probably waiting for him.
“You wanted to talk to me?”
“Kent, have you, by any chance, read the newspapers this morning?”
Clark frowned. Of course he had. Knowing what happened in the world was his job. Not knowing the answer Perry was expecting, he just nodded and waited. Perry’s tone indicated nothing good was to come.
“Was the Inquisitor one of those?”
“I’ve never thought of it as a newspaper.”